A Message from the CEO

Since 1887, we at the Rescue Mission have had the privilege to serve our community – offering shelter, food, clothing and hope. Every employee at the Rescue Mission; whether they work at one of our Thrift Stores or our Distribution warehouse, in our residential programs, at the emergency shelter, driving trucks or making meals all have the responsibility of helping those who are in the most need, the hungry, homeless and hurting.

I’ve been part of this organization for over a decade as a social worker, previously working for several local non-profits and as a staff pastor at a local church. My wife and son and I live in this community where we believe similarly to the founders of the Rescue Mission, that what we do for those who are living in the margins of society, reflects what we would do for God.

The “why” we do this is pretty simple from my perspective. Everyday there is someone or some family in our community who is overlooked and ignored with no where to go. We are the place where they will be welcomed, served and supported.  We put love into action!

Dan Sieburg, CEO


Dan Sieburg

Chief Executive Officer

Corey Kociela

Chief of Staff

Traci Faulkner

Chief Financial Officer

Amber Vander Ploeg

Chief Program Officer

Belinda Teller

Chief Human Resources Officer

Luana Lovenguth, Chief Social Enterprise Officer

Luana Lovenguth

Chief Social Enterprise Officer

Yulon Jones


Board of Directors

The Rescue Mission is governed by a strong, diverse group of community leaders dedicated to helping the men, women, and children struggling with hunger and homelessness across Upstate New York.

Dan Sieburg with Nicole Woodall
Rescue Mission CEO Dan Sieburg with the President of the Board of Directors, Nicole Woodall, CPA.


Chair: Nicole Woodall, CPA, Fust Charles Chambers LLP

Vice-Chair: David Allyn, Allyn Family Foundation

Vice-Chair: John McCabe, MD, Upstate Medical University

Vice-Chair: Charla Roth, CPA, CDA, Dannible & McKee, LLP

Treasurer: Chris Gardner, FMF&E Wealth Management, LLC

Secretary: Graham Brodock, Kris-Tech Wire

David Baim, Wegmans

Xenia Becher, LCSW, Family Planning of Syracuse

Chief Kenton T. Buckner, Syracuse Police Department

Jim Cifaratta, Smartest Energy

Sam Cosamano, P.E., IPD Engineering

Bishop Ronald Dewberry, New Life Temple of Praise

Alejandro Garcia, Ph. D., Syracuse University

Ryan Issakainen, CFA, First Trust

Andrew Maxwell, C&S Companies

Ed Riley, Brine Wells Development, LLC

Philip R. VanHorne, BlueRock Energy

Hal Wentworth, Community Bank System, Inc.